University system

All Universities in Sri Lanka operating under the University Grants Commission are involved in research and research training as provided by the Universities Act No. 16 of 1978. The mandate is described in section 29 (d) as follows:

Universities in Sri Lanka

  1. University of Colombo
  2. University of Peradeniya
  3. University of Sri Jayawardenapura
  4. University of Kelaniya
  5. University of Ruhuna
  6. University of Moratuva
  7. University of Jaffna
  8. Open University of Sri Lanka
  9. Eastern University
  10. Wayamba University
  11. Rajarata University
  12. Sabaragamuva University of Sri Lanka
  13. South-Eastern University

Post graduate Education Institutes in Sri Lanka

University education - Brief overview

Related Link : University Grants Commission (UGC)


This page was last updated 22/ 08 / 2005

All contents copyright 2004, National Science Foundation - Sri Lanaka. All rights reserved.
Science Policy Research Division, National Science Foundation, 47/5, Maitland Place, Colombo 7, Sri Lanka.
Your comments and suggestions are welcome to